Home > General > Deleting Records

Deleting Records

There are several ways to delete a record:

1. Click the Delete... button at the top, left of the Detail View window.

2. In the Application menu, go to Record/Delete_______... (in this example, Record/Delete Purchase Order...).

Deleting Controls

Most layouts have rules on what can or cannot be deleted.  For example, an item with any transactions cannot be deleted.  This means that you can create an item that you anticipate purchasing.  Before a purchase is made, you can delete that item as it will have no transaction records.  However, once that item is added to a purchase order, it may no longer be deleted.

Likewise, many of the order (Purchase Order, Estimate Order, Sales Order, etc.) can only be deleted when the status is "New".  Once the status has changed, then one or more processes have taken place and the order cannot be deleted.

 

Delete Warning

Users will receive a popup message, verifying that they want to proceed with a deletion.  Notice how the Delete button is followed by an ellipsis.  Likewise, the application navigation has an ellipsis at the end.  This indicates that a message box will appear before performing the action.

  

Deleting Child Records

When a record is deleted, its child records are deleted as well.  For example, a Purchase Order has a status of "New" and has 5 line items.  When the Purchase Order is deleted, those 5 line items are deleted as well.  The user doesn't need to do anything beyond deleting the Purchase Order in order for the 5 line items to also delete.  That happens automatically.

Cancel vs Delete

Deleting a record and cancelling a process are two different actions.  Cancelling a process will clear temporary data entry fields and not proceed with a given process (e.g. updating a record).  Two different icons are used for these functions, but they are hardly universal, so it is worth noting.

In Trayse Inventory, a dash (or a minus sign) is used to signify that something will be cleared.

An x signifies that something will be deleted.

A - signifies that a process is being canceled and/or temporary data will be cleared.